Lots of New Sounds

M Bates by Todd Rosenberg-082

This Saturday will bring lots of new sounds to WUOL, starting with Voicebox (Saturday at 8pm). Chloe Veltman talks with composer Mason Bates about setting text to music. We’ll hear Bates’ own music and other works he’s hand-picked.

The New York Philharmonic This Week features music from its Contact series. Curated by Composer-in-Residence Magnus Lindberg, the program will feature Alexandre Lunsqui, H.K. Gruber’s Frankenstein!, Elliot Carter, Michael Jarrell and Pierre Boulez.

Anna Clyne and Jennifer Koh on Prince of Clouds

This week’s Chicago Symphony Orchestra broadcast will feature a premiere by Anna Clyne called Prince of Clouds. Here’s a review of this December concert, and below is a conversation between the composer and Jennifer Koh, one of the violinists who performed the work. Tune in Sunday at 9pm to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Louisville Orchestra Season Announcement

banner_LO logo

The Louisville Orchestra announces its 2013-2014 season on Monday, January 28. Classical 90.5 will present many of the announced works during Monday’s afternoon program, 12 – 4 pm.

2010 Pulitzer Prize in Music

Jennifer Higdon is the 2010 winner of the Pulitzer Prize in music for her Violin Concerto composed for Hilary Hahn. It was commissioned by The Indianapolis Symphony, The Toronto Symphony Orchestra, The Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, and The Curtis Institute of Music. Ms. Higdon is one of the most performed living American composers and won the 2010 GRAMMY for Best Contemporary Classical Composition for her Percussion Concerto. She is entirely self-published under the title Lawdon Press.

Edit: Read Higdon’s reflections on winning the Pulitzer here.