2015 Holiday Choral Festival


Tickets are currently only available at the door.

The 10th Annual Holiday Choral Festival is this Sunday!

Be present for an unforgettable evening of music with the University of Louisville Cardinal Singers, Floyd Central A Cappella Choir, Black Classical Artists of Louisville and The Choirs of St. Martin of Tours Church.

December 6 at 7pm, St. Martin of Tours Church, 639 South Shelby Street, Louisville, KY.

Tickets are currently only available at the door.

Sponsored by


Austin Clark on Bourbon Baroque’s Messiah


Young Artist Competition Winners Recital

Performance Studio Piano

YAC_icon15_trans24_250x250pCome hear some of the best young classical musicians in the region on Wednesday at noon. Winners of the 2015 Young Artist Competition will perform live on Classical 90.5.

Reserve a lunch from City Cafe by calling 502-814-6565 by Tuesday at noon.

Sponosored by PNC Wealth Management.

Classical 90.5 Donates 44 Brand New Instruments


Louisville, Ky. (November 19, 2015) — Louisville Public Media (LPM), with generous support from the Robert and Clarita Whitney Fund and PNC Wealth Management, has donated 44 new band instruments to Jefferson County Public School (JCPS) students through its Instrumental Partners Program. The value of the instruments is more than $17,000.

The instruments will be distributed to students at Jacob Elementary, Western High School, Doss High School and the Phoenix School of Discovery. The program has already donated 63 refurbished instruments to JCPS in 2015.

Western sophomore Jasmine Gibson received a new clarinet. Jasmine, a student in Western’s Early College Program, has played the clarinet for six years and performs in the Western band.

“When I requested an instrument, I honestly thought it would be ignored,” Jasmine said. “For me, music is a door to self expression. Now, I’ll be able to practice more frequently and improve my skills for a future musical career.”

“Instrumental Partners has been an integral part of our organization’s identity. We don’t just play classical music — we give back to the community,” said LPM Director of Radio Daniel Gilliam. “We are thrilled that the Robert and Clarita Whitney Fund acknowledge this mission and are grateful for their financial support.”

Instruments distributed:
• Jacob Elementary School received 30 violins.
• The Phoenix School of Discovery received four clarinets and a trumpet.
• Western High School received three trumpets, three clarinets, and a tuba.
• Doss High School received a bass clarinet and a euphonium.

About the Instrumental Partners Program
Since 2003, the Louisville Public Media Instrumental Partners Program has placed more than 600 instruments in the hands of students in our community, allowing hundreds of children to participate in school music opportunities. The program collects gently used band and orchestra instruments, has them refurbished and then donates the instrument back to students in need. Studies continue to show that music listening, performance and lessons improve our language, communication and problem-solving skills, benefits that Louisville Public Media hopes all students in our community can experience. Charles Brinson, a tenth grader at Shawnee High School, describes what playing an instrument has meant to him here.

The donation of instruments is made possible by Louisville Public Media’s Instrumental Partners Program, with generous support from the Robert and Clarita Whitney Fund and PNC Wealth Management. Special thanks to the Community Foundation of Louisville for their support.

WhitneyFund_568x170 (2)


Live In-Studio: Jiyoung Jeoung


Come hear a live in-studio with pianist Jiyoung Jeoung on Thursday at 1pm. She’ll play Mozart and Joan Tower (preview below).

Doors open at 12:45pm. Free and open-to-the-public.