A Remembrance of Lorin Maazel

Maestro Maazel - Thumbs Up - Photo by C. Scott Willis-X2

Maestro Lorin Maazel

Obituary from the New York Times

Obituary from The New Yorker

Healthy Competition


Competition is all around us, from sporting events to how many ads you see for a particular product. Composers haven’t been insulated from competition, either. When Joseph Haydn was working in London, his former student Ignaz Pleyel showed up and became his teacher’s rival. Haydn decided he would write a Sinfonia Concertante, like Pleyel’s (who had already written 4 of his 6). This hybrid music would combine elements of a concerto (a soloist or group of soloists and orchestra) and a symphony. Haydn only wrote one, but it has become one of his most beloved works.

Do you know what Pleyel is mainly known for today? Pianos.

(Chopin’s favorite piano was a Pleyel)

The lighter side of English music


Light music is a generic term for a British musical style of “light” orchestral music, which originated in the 19th century. It reached its peak in the mid 20th century but continues until the present day.

The style is a less serious form of Western classical music, usually comprised of shorter orchestral pieces and suites designed to appeal to a wider audience than more serious compositions. The form emphasises melody and tonal harmonies.

Occasionally known as mood music or concert music, light music is often grouped with the easy listening genre, although this designation is misleading. Although mainly a British phenomenon, light music was also popular in the United States. Composers such as Leroy Anderson and George Gershwin could be considered American progenitors of light music.

We’ll hear light music from Great Britain on the next English Pastorale, Sunday at 9 am.

Summer Listening – Composers on Vacation

Have you ever returned from a vacation reenergized and inspired to create? A trip to Italy inspired Englishman Edward Elgar to write an orchestral overture called, “In the South”.  Elgar spent time in the Italian Riviera town of Alassio where he had a “eureka” moment. He later wrote:
“Then in a flash, it all came to me – streams, flowers, hills; the distant snow mountains in one direction and the blue Mediterranean in the other; the conflict of the armies on that very spot long ago, where I now stood – the contrast of the ruin and the shepherd – and then, all of a sudden, I came back to reality. In that time I had composed the overture – the rest was merely writing it down.”
Check out these other composers on vacation:
Elgar taking a nap
Respighi hanging at the beach with friends (2nd from right)
Debussy catching some rays
Esa-Pekka Salonen enjoying the outdoors

Andrew Rhinehart


Classical 90.5′s live music program, Lunchtime Classics, is on summer hiatus. In the meantime, we’ll look back at some notable past performances.

Guitarist Andrew Rhinehart holds a Bachelors of Music Performance degree with an emphasis on classical guitar from the University of Louisville. Andrew is a guitar instructor at Indiana University Southeast. He is currently working on his Doctorate degree at the University of Kentucky. Andrew is also performing for the Kentucky Center Arts in Healing program.

Andrew has several recitals coming up in the fall including November 9th at Christ Church Cathedral. Until then enjoy this performance by Andrew Rhinehart from his appearance on WUOL’s Lunchtime Classics: